Cinderella – the whole panto in five minutes!

IMG_4293

A do -it- yourself version of Cinderella – a  tongue in cheek script written in haste.

It might remind you of a time when old aunties and grannies were around and children were expected to entertain them!

Best performed when everyone is merry, children bored with computer games etc. It needs to be done at breathtaking pace. Some of the lines scan if you are lucky!

But please note the Disney version is on later so  you might prefer to wait!Ann Perrin slide (465)

Instructions

Solo performance   One or two adults performing the whole thing ,  attempting  different voices and with a few hats or props. It can  be re-written to be as topical and raucous as you like.

Children  – Children can take more than one role if necessary. They could also use the outline to write there own version and  can be done with glove, rod or paper bag puppets.

Music –Any Christmas CD to warm the audience up for a few minutes.

Musical score-there was supposed to be one for the la la la, la la la la’s,  but could I get my partner interested enough to do it? I could not!  It may follow later..

“Oh no it won’t!” ” Oh yes it will!”  

Cinderella –  five minute panto script starts here

All parts use sing song 

Cinderella – (enters) I am Cinderella I have to work all day. And all my ugly sisters do is lounge about and play….”It’s Cinders get a move on, help with this and that. It’s fix my hair and fix my dress  you lazy little brat” (dances off to tune of audience singing their la la la bit)

Audience/Chorus  la la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la

(For a one man/woman show change hat)

Buttons – I am Billy Buttons, the Baron’s favourite page, he hasn’t any money so I never get a wage….I love dear Cinderella, I help her sweep and clean.  Her horrid ugy sisters are nowhere to be seen.  (dances off to chorus singing their la la la bit)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Baron – I am Baron Stoney Broke, the bankers did for me, they lent out all my money and there’s nothing left me all at sea.  (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Droopy Drawers (ugly sister) – I’m ugly sister Droopy Drawers, but changed my name to Kate. I hoped I’d be Prince William’s bride, but left it all too late.  (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Flossie (ugly sister) – I’m Ugly sister Flossie, but people call me Floss, I make sure that Cinders gets to know who has to be the boss ( dances off)

Encourage audience to shout boo!

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Cinders – My horrid ugly sisters have gone off to the ball, and I have to stay at home it isn’t fair at all.  (dances off)

Buttons – Never mind dear Cinders, the kitchen’s warm and dry, hot chocolate and a cuddle and time will quickly fly.  (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Fairy  – I am the fairy godmother, and magic’s what I do. I’ll wave my wand and make a coach, one of dear old Posh’s frock’s  and off to the ball for you (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Cinderella (with glittery head dress) Oh dearest fairy godmother, Primark doesn’t stand a chance. A lovely frock, a lovely coach, off to the ball to dance!  (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Fairy – Yes off you go and meet the Prince, but listen for the clock, for when it chimes at midnight, you’ll be back in your old frock. (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Prince I am the Prince and charming, I’ve danced the night away…but she did not like our corgis and at midnight ran away.

But I’ve found her tiny slipper, so I can search the land, and when I find the dreamy girl,  will offer her my….. hand! (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Droopy drawers – Oh princey, princey sweetie pie, my foot will fit the shoe, but you’ll have to wait a minute for I’m popping to the loo (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Flossie –  Now come on princey darling boy,  the shoe is one of mine, be careful with my bunions, for you will soon be mine!  (dances off)

Prince – Oh those two girls are awful and shoe is Oh.. so neat, I’m know it must fit someone with teeny weeny feet! (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Cinders -Goodness me is that the time.. this nonsense nearly done…Oh what a shame I hear you cry the Panto’s nearly done!  (dances off) 

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (while you change hat)

Buttons – The shoe will fit dear Cinders it’s how these pantos go, so give a cheer and all go home,  it’s the ending of the show  (dances off)

Chorus La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la (repeat)

La la la – oh la la la – la la la la la – La la la – oh la la la – oh la la la la la 

While you, your team of performers or the puppets take a bow, 30 seconds of music.

Set – If using glove puppets can be two chairs with a curtain between, puppeteers on knees puppets pop up to perform.  If just one person a box of hats and  attempting voices in character. If planned ahead at home, for a cub group or school everyone can contribute to re- writing and/or extending the script.

Costumes – for children  – Cinders – a scarf for head tied at the back ordinary clothes and an apron. Buttons – a baseball hat and huge card buttons sewn on a tee shirt. The Baron – an old straw hat, ordinary clothes but a waistcoat would help to set the scene. Ugly sisters – whatever you can find that is hideous, or just with an enormous bow on head, red for one blue for the other. Cinders’ ball gown can be a net curtain thrown over ordinary clothes. Fairy  – a glittery necklace in hair, cardboard wings and wand.

this is cindersOne I made earlier as they used to say on Blue Peter…(see 2 below).

The following are two versions of Cinderella

1. A workshop I did  some years ago with students with physical and/or learning  disabilities. We  made the rod puppets, props and painted scenery.  The improvised performance was watched by  friends and a local play group. I filmed some of the process  just by leaving a camera running  (with their permission)

The participants were given a DVD to take home. Their commitment and joy was inspirational.  The rod puppets make in 2 hr sessions over 5 weeks.  Hope it might inspire others.

Creating Cinderella at Clusters  (lasts 5 minutes)

 

2. A version of Cinderella with marionettes based on an older version we had performed over the years,  This time just my mother and I in my loft,  trying to operate the puppets , and filming at the same time. A bit stilted but we enjoyed it doing it.

Frankly I would have liked to have done one of our more traditional versions that I remembered as a child, but my mother in her late 70’s had a mind of her own! Hence the frog, flirting fairy and a slightly gender challenged Prince!

Cinderella with a twist (9 minutes)

3. For those interested in a family puppet workshops this one was a took place at Saltdean Library a few years ago. (without funding so a freebie)  It featured Jack in the Beanstalk.  The  puppets were made in two afternoon sessions and performance thrown together in an afternoon with willing adults reading the parts.

Jack and the Beanstalk (14 minutes)

Post update

4. The photo is a slide taken one of the family  workshop I ran in Lambeth. I loved the cut out coach that a rod puppet can be seen to alight and ride in it.

Recently found in our archive and cleaned with many others by Tom HardwickAnn Perrin slide (465)

 

 

 

 

An award winning blog    for ‘a blog that brightens our day’!

 

This entry was posted in Brighton - out and about, Cheer yourself up, Christmas - love or loath it?, Marionette, Photography, Puppethouse mayhem and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cinderella – the whole panto in five minutes!

  1. ann perrin says:

    Reblogged this on Ann Perrin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

