Feel good factor 1 – New Jersey Nights

DSC08540 One minute I am  having a harp lesson the next off to a musical show at The Pavilion,  featuring the music of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons.   Well my musical tastes are pretty cosmopolitan.

I was there thanks to my friend having a spare ticket  but after  too long feeling poorly and not going out as much,  this show could not fail to put the feel good factor back into one’s life. DSC08541The last time I was really impressed by DSC08542 this  music was ‘The Jersey Boys’ up in town. This show however with its  four talented singers, solos and harmonies,  fully captured the magic of the original group.  This together with inventive choreography and  a few wisecracks in the right places,  had the whole audience giving a  well  deserved standing ovation.

It is easy to forget just how influential Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons were despite the Beatles coming on the scene fairly early on in their career. Hidden partly from fame by their reputation as backing singers and several personal tragedies along the way,  it was some time before their own songs such as’Sherry’, ‘Rag Doll’, ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You’, Big Girls Don’t Cry’, ‘Silence is Golden’ and [ ‘Oh What a Night’ hit the big time.

DSC08546 The original group and a testimonial DSC08548

They were not my teenage idols, I  don’t remember being a ‘teenager’ as I was in show business with my marionettes and I was too busy to idolise anyone. I think I first heard them in the early sixties on the radio as a young mum!

But here tonight  the sheer energy of the show made it an absolute winner.   If it comes to a theatre near you, don’t wait for a friend to offer you a spare ticket. Get along for a night of bright lights, good songs, talented dancers,  backing music and a great quartet.

So thanks to Diane for the ticket and George her husband for the lift home and the wonderful performers who were brill.

This entry was posted in Brighton - out and about, Cheer yourself up and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

