The lovely Lorraine Bowen

DSC06282Not sure how I ended up in Bexhill yesterday but I did!  It must have been the lure of the lovely Lorraine Bowen, and a last minute email to say there were four places left on her Christmas ‘scratch’ choir. Five hours later with fantastic tuition and tips from Lorriane, who had spent months planning and organising backing tracks etc. we were putting on a performance to 400 people in the De La Warr Pavilion. Songs included Walking in the Air, Silent Night and of course lots of jolly ones too!

DSC06311   DSC06309   DSC06292    DSC06291DSC06299      DSC06293    DSC06298

DSC06300  DSC06303  DSC06305  DSC06302

DSC06307 DSC06308  DSC06310 DSC06295 

DSC06288 DSC06287The singing and a singalong was followed by a showing of ‘White Christmas’ on the big screen. I already planned to meet someone for ‘The Burning of the Clocks’ so made a dash back to Brighton.

Oh and while I was at the lovely De La Warr Pavilion I popped into ‘The Nakeds’. One can muse on delicate and pretty garish images of the human body, including two drawings by Tracy Emin.  Or is you want to be intellectually challenged learn about Egon Schiele and the birthplace of modern psychoanalysis. There is a life drawing class on Jan 15th in the gallery cost £9.50. The train journey to Bexhill is a pretty and easy ride.

I’ve been to several of Lorraine’s one woman shows, she is warm, wonderful and often hilarious. I first met her when I moved to Brighton  seven years ago. She did brilliant lunchtime workshops financed, I believe, by some Pavilion community funds. I also got involved in two ‘plays in a weekend’ with producers from the West End.  I remember dancing in one with people half my age and being in a pub in an improvised vignette in another.

DSCF0509

But at least now I can relax for the rest of the week! DSCF0507Luckily I did my family Christmas meal last weekend, three generations and home made gifts as usual. But we didn’t unwrap them this time, so surprises! What on earth will they be? 

This entry was posted in Brighton - out and about, Cheer yourself up, Famous places, Finding my feet in Brighton, Retiring to Brighton - ups and downs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

