A cottage garden by the sea

(this is doggerel you have  been warned)

A cottage garden by the sea

says much for it and much of me                               1-P1030680-001
small apple trees and just one plum
my gardening is by rule of thumb
aubretia just refused to grow
a blue wisteria said simply ‘No’
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad
to try and grow such things is mad                                       1-P1030828

but I’m pigheaded won’t give in
even if at times it’s grim
I tell the seeds as I sow
I’ll nurture them and trust they’ll grow
I’ll chase away the slugs and snails
I’ll water plants with cans and pails
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad1-P1030668
to try and grow such things is mad

bright colours of the flowers for me
the seasons will be plain to see
the blue tits nest in boxes here
feed from feeders without fear
the tabby cat that prowls about
will move quite quickly when I shout1-P1030671
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad
to try and grow such things is mad

so as the sunflowers gain their strength
I’ll watch the garden with content
for once it was all lawn and pots
and now it certainly is not
my  greenhouse is a nursery
where seeds of life are sown for free1-P1030819
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad
to try and grow such things is mad

they make their way they take their chance
a fragile world in which to dance
despite the wind the rain the snow
they’ll have their time and then they’ll go
for life is short and soon we’re gone
the world is transcient like a song1-P1030833-001
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad
to try and grow such things is mad

and like this diatribe of words
that people might find too absurd
I just don’t care for when I’m blue
it’s growing things and writing too
and I’ll not check these thoughts of mine
nor scan the syllables or rhyme
the wind’s too strong the salt is bad
to try and grow such things is mad.

An award winning blog  for a ‘blog that brightens our day’

1-P1030831    1-P1030674    1-P1030832-001  1-P1030821

 

This entry was posted in Brighton - out and about, Cheer yourself up on a dull day, Finding my feet in Brighton, Gardening and the Allotment - for the love of it, Living by the sea, Photography, Poetry - Creative Writing, Retiring to Brighton - ups and downs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A cottage garden by the sea

  1. rutinka says:

    What a wonderful piece to receive whilst sitting by the sea in Corfu opposite the misty mountains of Albania. Love Ruthxx

Leave a Reply

